When will the minimum wage increase?
Maine’s minimum wage is on the rise with a consumer price index adjustment as is required by state law. The minimum wage increase will go into effect on January 1, 2022. This means that all employees must be paid at least the new minimum wage on the first pay date in January, regardless of what pay period you are paying out, for your business to maintain compliance.
What will the new minimum wage be?
Effective on January 1st, the new wage will increase from $12.15 per hour to $12.75 per hour. The service employee minimum wage or “tipped wage” will rise to $6.38 per hour. The employer must be able to show that the employee receives at least the minimum wage of $12.75 per hour when the direct wage and tips are combined at the end of the week. The minimum salary or exempt employee wage threshold increases to $735.59 per week, or $38,251 per year. Salaried employees must earn at least $735.59 per week to be exempt from overtime.
If you have any questions regarding the new Maine minimum wage, please do not hesitate to contact us.